RSS

The courage of Evanna Lynch

28 Mar

Writing a first post always feels special. This is my third blog, and once again I have that excited feeling building up inside of me, the kind that you only really get when you’re about to kick off something that you genuinely think you’ll be proud of. So what better way do this feeling credit, and kick start a blog about body Image, than writing about someone who I admire and respect in equal measure; Evanna Lynch.

Movie-Gazette.com

The word ‘actor’ tends to be synonymous with a certain kind of  person, a  happy, confident individual. Yet in her youth, Evanna  suffered  from anorexia.

In an interview with the sun, the Irish actress spoke of how she sent  letters to JK Rowling telling her how much the Harry Potter books  helped her, how they gave her hope.

“I told her the books gave me hope, particularly Luna Lovegood. I  told how I looked up to her. She wrote back and was like  a counselor.

“She told me anorexia is destructive, not creative, and thebrave thing was not to succumb to it. I told her I’d love to be in the films and she encouraged that but said I’d need to be well to do so. In the end I think that’s why I recovered.”

First of all, I’d Like to say Fair play to JK for being so sweet, for taking the time out of her day to notice one tiny fan crying out for help, but not only that, but for continuously being there and replying to a young girl in need. Well done!

But in this story it is the courage of an 11 year old girl that is breathtaking. To be able to reach out and take control of her life in the way that she has done is truly remarkable.

_________

But all of this is old news-if you google her name, the second most common search is ‘Evanna Lynch anorexia’ So why bring it up now?

Because of this.

It’s an essay written by Evanna about the very subject of this blog-body image.

It is beautifully written and wonderfully inspiring, and if anyone who is reading this has even the smallest of qualm about the way they look, please give it a read.

I simply cannot do credit to marathon journey this girl has endured. But as much as I love to tell happy stories, it is stories such as this which elude to a much larger problem. It shows that almost anyone can suffer from eating disorders, regardless of their personality, regardless of who they are. If you are someone who does, remember that you are beautiful and that life is a gift and please try and talk to someone.

If you are not, then remember those three things anyway, because theres is nothing like a bit if positivity!

You can find advice about anorexia here.

__________

Edit – I am now doing a thing called Dare Dougie. If you have an idea for a dare you want me to do, feel free to comment..It can be as crazy or as wacky or as funny as you want!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2011 in Celeb, Eating Disorders

 

2 responses to “The courage of Evanna Lynch

  1. Emily

    March 29, 2011 at 10:40 am

    I’m subscibing 🙂
    I like this one, i’m still surprised someone who seems so confident in themselves experienced this

     
  2. Hermione :P

    June 29, 2012 at 4:37 am

    Wow. What an amazing story. Evanna was very courageous! J.K. Rowling did a wonderful thing to try and help a fan who she didn’t even know. Lovely story!

     

Leave a Reply

 
